REGULATIONS

The regulations in terms of demining / pyrotechnic clearance are very strict and govern all the operations that can be carried out on French soil.

The Environment Code provides in its article L.556-2 that all “construction or housing development projects planned in a soil information sector (SIS) (…) are subject to a study of the soils in order to establish the pollution management measures to be implemented to ensure compatibility between future use and the state of the soils”.

Article R.125-43 of the Environmental Code specifies that the SIS does not deal with two particular and sensitive pollutions, including pyrotechnic pollution, by referring to the Internal Safety Code (CSI). This exclusion from the SIS does not exclude the contracting authority from studying the soil on its land. In this sense, it will directly meet the specifications of article 5 of Decree 2005-1325 amended 2010 , if the land is not the property of the Ministry of the Armed Forces, and will thus comply with its security obligations defined in the code of the work (articles L-4121-1 to 3).

These obligations fall under the civil and criminal liability of the sponsor.

To do this, the client or the company carrying out the work on the basement must approach companies specializing in pyrotechnic pollution in accordance with Decree 2005-1325 amended 2010 .  

The latter will then be required to comply with the safety rules specific to pyrotechnic depollution sites, opened and conducted as part of a building and civil engineering site carried out by the companies mentioned in Articles L. 4111-1 to L. 4111 -5 of the labor code which are defined and governed by Decree 2005-1325 amended by Decree 2010-1260 and its 2 decrees .

In order to support project owners in understanding the pyrotechnic risk, the Syndicat des Métiers de la Dépollution Pyrotechnique (SMDPYRO) has created a guide for public works operations, preliminary studies and soil remediation work likely to encounter munitions. unexploded (UXO) .

 

More generally, we can cite several texts likely to apply to diagnostic and pyrotechnic clearance operations:

  • Article R 733-1 of the Internal Security Code , setting the respective attributions of the Ministry of the Interior and the Ministry of Defense with regard to research, neutralization, removal and destruction of ammunition and explosives;

 

  • DGT note of April 2, 2021 repealing the DGT/IPE note of September 18, 2013, concerning pyrotechnic depollution sites  on civil land, as part of a building and civil engineering project

  • Decree 2005-1325 of October 26, 2005 , relating to the safety rules applicable during work carried out as part of a pyrotechnic depollution site, amended by decree 2010-1260 of October 22, 2010;

 

  • Order of September 12, 2011 , called for by decree 2005-1325 of October 26, 2005 as amended, setting the rules for determining isolation distances relating to pyrotechnic depollution sites;

 

  • Order of January 23, 2006 , called for by decree 2005-1325 of October 26, 2005 as amended, setting the level of knowledge required and medical skills for personnel exercising the functions of pyrotechnic safety officer, pyrotechnic site manager and for persons called upon to carry out pyrotechnic clearance operations;

 

  • Labor Code, in particular articles L4121-1 to L4121-5 , on the responsibilities of the head of the establishment in terms of occupational health and safety;

  • Environmental Code, in particular article L.556-2  specifying that all “construction or subdivision projects planned in a soil information sector (SIS) (…) are subject to a soil study in order to establish the pollution management measures to be implemented implemented to ensure compatibility between future use and the state of the soil".

  • Article R4534-39 of the Labor Code , in the event of the discovery of a device liable to explode, work is immediately interrupted in the vicinity until the competent authorities have had the device removed.

  • Decree No. 2013-973 of October 29, 2013  on the prevention of the particular risks to which workers are exposed during pyrotechnic activities  

  • Letters from the IPE which offer advice on the application of pyrotechnic safety regulations and the latest regulatory developments on the subject.

Réglementation dépollution pyrtechnique déminage

REGLEMENTATION

La réglementation en matière de déminage / dépollution pyrotechnique est très stricte et encadre l'intégralité des opérations pouvant être réalisées sur le sol Français.

Le code de l’environnement prévoit dans son article L.556-2 que tous « les projets de construction ou de lotissement prévus dans un secteur d'information sur les sols (SIS) (…) font l'objet d'une étude des sols afin d'établir les mesures de gestion de la pollution à mettre en œuvre pour assurer la compatibilité entre l'usage futur et l'état des sols ».

L’article R.125-43 du Code de l’Environnement spécifie que le SIS ne traite pas deux pollutions particulières et sensibles dont la pollution pyrotechnique en faisant référence au Code de la Sécurité Intérieur (CSI). Cette exclusion du SIS n’exclu pas le maitre d’ouvrage de l’étude des sols sur son terrain. En ce sens, il répondra directement aux spécifications de l’article 5 du Décret 2005-1325 modifié 2010, si le terrain n’est pas la propriété du Ministère des Armées, et se conformera ainsi à ses obligations de sécurité définies dans le code du travail (articles L-4121-1 à 3).

Ces obligations relèvent de la responsabilité civile et pénale du commanditaire.

Pour ce faire, le maitre d’ouvrage ou l’entreprise réalisant les travaux sur le sous-sol doivent se rapprocher d’entreprises spécialisées en pollution pyrotechnique conformément au Décret 2005-1325 modifié 2010

Ces dernières seront alors tenues de se conformer aux règles de sécurité particulières aux chantiers de dépollution pyrotechnique, ouverts et conduits dans le cadre d'un chantier de bâtiment et génie civil réalisé par les entreprises mentionnées aux articles L. 4111-1 à L. 4111-5 du code du travail qui sont définies et encadrées par le Décret 2005-1325 modifié par le Décret 2010-1260 et ses 2 arrêtés.

Afin d'accompagner les maitres d'ouvrages à appréhender le risque pyrotechnique, le Syndicat des Métiers de la Dépollution Pyrotechnique (SMDPYRO) à créé un guide pour les opérations de travaux publics, études préalables et travaux de dépollution de sols susceptibles de rencontrer des munitions non-explosées (UXO).

 

D'une manière plus générale, nous pouvons citer plusieurs textes susceptibles de s'appliquer aux opérations de diagnostic et de dépollution pyrotechnique :

  • Article R 733-1 du Code de la sécurité intérieure, fixant les attributions respectives du ministère de l’Intérieur et du ministère de la Défense en matière de recherche, de neutralisation d’enlèvement et de destruction des munitions et des explosifs;

 

  • Décret 2005-1325 du 26 octobre 2005, relatif aux règles de sécurité applicables lors des travaux réalisés dans le cadre d’un chantier de dépollution pyrotechnique, modifié par le décret 2010-1260 du 22 octobre 2010;

 

  • Arrêté du 12 septembre 2011, appelé par le décret 2005-1325 du 26 octobre 2005 modifié, fixant les règles de détermination des distances d'isolement relatives aux chantiers de dépollution pyrotechnique;

 

  • Arrêté du 23 janvier 2006, appelé par le décret 2005-1325 du 26 octobre 2005 modifié, fixant le niveau de connaissances requises et les aptitudes médicales pour les personnels exerçant les fonctions de chargé de sécurité pyrotechnique, de responsable de chantier pyrotechnique et pour les personnes appelés à exécuter les opérations de dépollution pyrotechnique;

 

  • Code du travail, notamment les articles L4121-1 à L4121-5, sur les responsabilités du chef d’établissement en matière de santé et de sécurité du travail ;

  • Code de l'environnement, notamment l'article L.556-2 spécifiant que tous « les projets de construction ou de lotissement prévus dans un secteur d'information sur les sols (SIS) (…) font l'objet d'une étude des sols afin d'établir les mesures de gestion de la pollution à mettre en œuvre pour assurer la compatibilité entre l'usage futur et l'état des sols ».

  • Article R4534-39 du code du travail, en cas de découverte d'un engin susceptible d'exploser, le travail est immédiatement interrompu au voisinage jusqu'à ce que les autorités compétentes aient fait procéder à l'enlèvement de l'engin.

  • Décret n° 2013-973 du 29 octobre 2013 relatif à la prévention des risques particuliers auxquels les travailleurs sont exposés lors d'activités pyrotechniques 

  • Les lettres de l'IPE qui offrent des conseils sur l’application de la réglementation de sécurité pyrotechnique et les dernières évolutions réglementaires sur le sujet.

Réglementation dépollution pyrtechnique déminage